Erasmus ("European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students") is the European Commission's educational programme for Higher Education students, teachers and institutions. It was introduced in 1987 with the aim of increasing student mobility within the European Community, subsequently the European Economic Area countries.

The Erasmus programme, which is arguably one of the best-known Community actions, encourages student and teacher mobility, and promotes transnational cooperation projects among universities across Europe. Erasmus has developed beyond just being an educational programme. It gives many European university students the chance of living for the first time in a foreign country, and it has reached the status of a social and cultural phenomenon.

Erasmus is a European Commission exchange programme that enables students in 31 European countries to study for part of their degree in another country. Erasmus can provide:

  • A fun challenging experience 
  • The confidence to live in another country 
  • New or improved language skills 
  • New perspectives on an academic subject 
  • An international network of friends 
  • Travel opportunities throughout Europe 
  • Academic credits 
  • Transferable employment skills 

The Department of Telecommunications actively participates in the ERASMUS program sending their students to abroad universities and accepting foreign students. Currently, the Department of Telecommunications have signed several bilateral agreements on student and staff mobility with universities from Finland, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Slovenia, France and Spain.